Joint Research Centre

logo ec jrc standard negative rgbThe Institute for Energy and Transport (IET) is part of the Directorate General Joint Research Centre (JRC) of the European Commission. The mission of the JRC is to provide customer-driven scientific and technical support for the conception, development, implementation and monitoring of EU policies. As a service of the EC, the JRC functions as a reference centre of science and technology for the Union. Close to the policy-making process, it serves the common interest of the Member States, while being independent of special interests, whether private or national. The Institute for Energy and Transport (IET) is one of the 7 scientific Institutes of the Joint Research Centre. The IET is based both in Petten, the Netherlands, and Ispra, Italy, and has a multidisciplinary team of around 300 academic, technical, and support staff. The mission of the JRC-IET is to provide support to Community policies and technology innovation to ensure sustainable, safe, secure and efficient energy production, distribution and use to foster sustainable and efficient transport in Europe. The Smart Electricity Systems Action is part of the Energy Security Unit at the JRC Institute for Energy and Transport, located both in Petten (NL) and Ispra (IT). The Smart Electricity Systems team, acting as European Commission's in-house consultant, performs independent scientific research and supports EU policy-making on transformations towards smarter electricity systems, around four pillars: Data Gathering and Processing, Smart Grid Simulation Centre, Integrated Assessment, Cooperation and Dissemination.


Web Site

Key Personnel Involved: Bompard E.Fulli G., Wilkening H.